Table of Contents

Handbook of Globalisation and Development

Edward Elgar

Edited by Kenneth A. Reinert, School of Policy, Government, and International Affairs, George Mason University

Publication date: March 2017

1. Globalisation and Development: Introduction and Overview

Kenneth A. Reinert, School of Policy, Government, and International Affairs, George Mason University (kreinert@gmu.edu)

PART I: INTERNATIONAL TRADE

2. Trade in Goods

Kenneth A. Reinert, School of Policy, Government, and International Affairs, George Mason University (kreinert@gmu.edu)

3. Trade in Services

Rupa Chanda, Economics and Social Sciences, Indian Institute of Management Bangalore (rupa@iimb.ernet.in)

4. Agricultural Trade

Devesh Roy, International Food Policy Research Institute (d.roy@cgiar.org)

5. Intellectual Property

Miranda Forsyth, College of Asia and the Pacific, Australian National University (miranda.forsyth@anu.edu.au)

6. Illicit Trade

Louise Shelley, School of Policy, Government and International Affairs, George Mason University (lshelley@gmu.edu)

7. Drug Trade and Human Security

Enrique Desmond Arias, School of Policy, Government and International Affairs, George Mason University (earias2@gmu.edu)

PART II: INTERNATIONAL PRODUCTION

8. Foreign Direct Investment

 John C. Anyanwu, African Development Bank (j.anyanwu@afdb.org)

9. Global Production Networks

Pralok Gupta, Centre for WTO Studies, Indian Institute of Foreign Trade (pralokgupta@gmail.com)

10. Governance of Multinational Enterprises

Sarianna Lundan, University of Bremen (s.lundan@uni-bremen.de)

11. Labor Standards

Kimberly Ann Elliott, Center for Global Development (kelliott@cgdev.org)

PART III: INTERNATIONAL FINANCE

12. Equity Markets

Christopher Odongo Kodongo and Kalu Ojah, University of the Witwatersrand Business School (kodongo03@gmail.com and kalu.ojah@wits.ac.za)

13. Bond Finance

Lena Rethel, Politics and International Studies, University of Warwick (l.rethel@warwick.ac.uk) and Iain Hardie, School of Social and Political Science University of Edinburgh

14. Banking

Sasidaran Gopalan, Asian Competitiveness Institute, Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy, National University of Singapore (sppsdg@nus.edu.sg)

15. Debt and Capital Flight

James Boyce and Léonce Ndikumana, Department of Economics, University of Massachusetts (boyce@econs.umass.edu and ndiku@econs.umass.edu)

16. Capital Controls

Gerald Epstein, Department of Economics, University of Massachusetts (gepstein@econs.umass.edu)

PART IV: MIGRATION

17. Migration

Irena Omelaniuk, formerly of International Organization for Migration and Global Forum on Migration and Development (iomelaniuk@yahoo.com.au)

18. Recuitment, Remittances and Return

Philip Martin, Department of Agricultural and Resource Economics, University of California Davis (martin@primal.ucdavis.edu) and Ibrahim Sirkeci, Regent’s University

19. Human Trafficking

Amanda Klekowski von Koppenfels, University of Kent Brussels School of International Studies (a.k.von-koppenfels@kent.ac.uk)

20. Brain Circulation

Zovanga Kone and Caglar Ozden, World Bank (cozden@worldbank.org)

PART V: FOREIGN AID

21. Foreign Aid Effectiveness

Mina Baliamoune-Lutz, Coggin College of Business, University of North Florida (mbaliamo@unf.edu)

22. Food Aid

Jennifer Clapp, Balsillie School of International Affairs and the Faculty of Environmental Studies, University of Waterloo (jclapp@uwaterloo.ca)

PART VI: A BROADER VIEW

23. Culture

Paul James, Institute for Culture and Society, University of Western Sydney (P.James2@uws.edu.au)

24. Technology

J.P. Singh, Global Affairs, George Mason University (jsingh19@gmu.edu)

25. Political Development

Damien Kingsbury, Faculty of Arts and Education, Deakin University (damien.kingsbury@deakin.edu.au)

26. Global Organizations

Gelaye Debebe, Department of Organizational Sciences, George Washington University (gdebebe@gwu.edu)

PART VII: CHALLENGES

27. Poverty and Inequality

David A. Clark (david_a_clark@hotmail.com) and Shailaja Fennell (ss141@cam.ac.uk), Center of Development Studies, University of Cambridge

28. Economic and Social Rights

Christopher Jeffords, Department of Economics, Indiana University of Pennsylvania (christopher.jeffords@iup.edu)

29. Global Health

Ted Schrecker, School of Medicine, Pharmacy and Health, Durham University (tschrecker@gmail.com)